New Philadelphia City Council

Public Works & Economic Development Committee

Meeting Notes

August 11, 2014 6:30 p.m.

Present for all or portions of the meeting were the following: Committee chairman Darrin Lautenschleger and committee members Sandy Cox and Rob Maurer; City Council members Cheryl Ramos, John Zucal, Winnie Walker and Dan Lanzer; City Council President Sam Hitchcock; Clerk of Council Patti McKay; Mayor Dave Johnson; Service Director James Zucal; Safety Director Greg Popham; City Law Director Marvin Fete; Nathan Cozart of WTUZ Radio; and city residents Mark Cox, Robert Martinelli, Greg Miller and Ethan Zucal.

Items To Be Discussed: Proposed Resolution 26-2014.

Mayor Johnson reported to the committee that the City of New Philadelphia and other municipalities in Tuscarawas County must review and adopt the new 10-year Solid Waste Management Plan for 2015-2024 as presented by Stark-Tuscarawas-Wayne Joint Solid Waste Management District. The deadline for the city to approve the appropriate legislation to accept the plan is coming up in the next several days, and the mayor said he apologized for an oversight for not forwarding this information for legislation for consideration by City Council prior to now.

He said the Joint Solid Waste District annually provides \$20,000 to \$25,000 to the city to assist in funding the city's recycling program. He requested that the committee recommend passing Resolution 26-2014 to accept the Solid Waste Management on first reading later tonight at Council's regular session.

In response to a question, the mayor said there were no major changes to the plan and that the plan also is critical to maintaining local control of solid waste management issues and decisions.

On a motion by Mr. Maurer, seconded by Ms. Cox, the committee voted unanimously 3-0 to recommend placing Resolution 26-2014 on the agenda for first reading at the regular session of City Council later tonight, and further recommends suspension of the rules and passing the resolution on first reading.

With no other business to come before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 6:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Darrin Lautenschleger Committee Chairman